ePub Trial Run

EI have spent most of the day trying to use different epub platforms but this one actually turned out to be the most straight forward and user friendly. The formatting options need a bit of work on my part as I would prefer it to be double columned like a journal article. That said, I cannot fault how seamlessly it worked.

The one complaint I have relates to the actual downloadable file that is as the website says ‘viewable on all devices’. By all devices of course they mean it can be accessed on all computer platforms, Apple products, Android devices, Kindles etc. however you will have to upgrade your software and install plugins for the various different platforms to view the .epub extension file. It is standard procedure I know, but it is something that always annoys me.

As I am already editing my MPhil thesis for publication it seemed fitting to use a sample of the content from Chapter 2. The link is provided below. Again this is only a test run and a (very small) sample of the overall context of the book that is about 100 pages in length. Once published all the raw data and tables will be uploaded to my academia.edu and researchgate.com profiles for everybody to download as they see fit.

For anybody looking for details or tutorials on open source options for epublishing I would suggest having a look at this and following the hyperlinks. It seems like a great community and I found some great suggestions but short of downloading a lot of things I really didn’t need I went with the aforementioned option.

I also attempted the Microsoft Word option that was recommended in tutorials online but again when you save the file as a webpage extension the formatting is lost.

http://www.epubbud.com/book.php?saved=1&g=M8TUAEBX

A part of the e-publishing dichotomy for me also is the availability of downloadable journal articles for the contributors. A number of journals now provide this facility to those whose papers are published so these can be hosted on their personal Academia/Researchgate profiles (to name but a few). Similarly these journal articles can be scanned to pdf. format and published in a manner of speaking. However, I present to you below (a mid-edit sub-sample of the same epub above) the reason I have a love/(mostly)hate relationship with pdf. documents. It seems that no matter how much work you put into perfecting the formatting of a document, errors appear that were never in the original document. As part of the publishing process I am required to submit a pdf. and Word Document in the event of observed errors before printing. Somewhat negates the need for the pdf. altogether if you ask me, but such is life.

Early Medieval Corn-Drying Kilns

Leave a Reply

