Artec Eva 3D Scanner

After somewhat of a poor start to my week I got the news that the Digital Arts and Humanities were to welcome the arrival of their new Artec Eva 3D Scanner. And like a newborn screaming into this world, it has wormed its way into the recesses of my heart.

200_s

We were treated to an in depth workshop on the various processing methods available with the accompanying software as well as some helpful tips and tricks for scanning difficult surfaces such as hair. I already have a list of objects I want to test it on (not least the rams head adorning my bedroom wall) however will possibly have to refrain to more academic mediums. I was happy to see however that it is quite competent for scanning wooden objects in considerable detail which is good news for my Pallasboy Project collaboration. I had expected a degree of uncertainty and difficulty given previous assessments on its suitability however this has me quite relieved and excited to begin.

I will provide an update on the scanner soon and all its attachments soon.

 

Leave a Reply

